Idols and Sin

sin-and-idols

Have we Christians become a society that is so enraptured with entertainment that we cannot even give up a movie for God?

Have we become a community that is so obsessed with freedom and fun that we think we can live any way we want and God accepts that?

Have we, like the Israelites of old, forgotten our God and set up worthless idols in His place?

My dear friends, if you love something so deeply – cling to it so fiercely – that you can’t give it up if God asks you to, then you love it above God. Which makes it an idol.

Anything can be an idol. And we all have idols from time to time. We’re human. We sin. Mess up. Make mistakes. Fail.

But we’re also children of the Most High God. Which means we need to acknowledge our idols, and allow God lay them to rest. We need to hate sin, and ask God to cleanse us of it.

“Idols” by Jessa Anderson

You may have seen one of my earlier posts, in which I share about my excitement for Disney’s remake of Beauty and the Beast. Well, it recently came out that Disney is putting their first explicitly gay character in this live-action fairy tale film. So I’m no longer going to see this movie (which, by the way, is really upsetting for me because I was so excited about this movie!), and want to warn others about its content, as well.

Friends, there may not be a kiss, and this character may not be the main character … but this movie is taking something that God says is sin and portraying it as “good”, “natural”, and “normal”. Not only is this confusing and detrimental to young children, it’s also desensitizing us.

And it is making light of sin. The Bible says it’s shameful to even mention what the wicked do in secret (Ephesians 5:12). So is it right to have it paraded before our eyes as funny and normal and perfectly okay?

Do movies mean so much to you that you just can’t give them up? Are you going to keep turning a blind eye, even as it gets worse and worse?

I don’t mean to come across as condemning. I’m no perfect example. I’ve had an extremely hard time giving up TV series/movies that I’ve loved because of a little bad content. Especially when they start out good. I’ve continued watching things when I’ve known, deep down, that I probably should just give it up. Sometimes it takes a long time for us to truly see what God is trying to bring to our attention – to feel the conviction He’s laying on our heart.

Psalm 139:23-24 says: Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the everlasting way.

And that, my dear sisters and brothers, is what we need to do. We need to cry out to God, “Search me! Show me if there is anything offensive to You in my actions or thoughts!”

We need to stop making excuses. Stop running from the truth. Stop hiding from the Holy Spirit’s conviction.

We need to stop and realize that God is HOLY. And RIGHTEOUS. And JUST. And GOOD. And ALL-KNOWING. And He sees our hearts.

I don’t know why you’ve decided to watch Beauty and the Beast {2017}, if you have. I don’t know your heart. And I’m not here to condemn you. But I am here to urge you to ponder this. To seek God’s guidance. To open the Word of God and see what your Lord is trying to tell you.

For the word of God is living and effective and sharper than any double-edged sword, penetrating as far as the separation of soul and spirit, joints and marrow. It is able to judge the ideas and thoughts of the heart. No creature is hidden from Him, but all things are naked and exposed to the eyes of Him to whom we must give an account.” Hebrews 4:12-13

Because maybe He is trying to tell you something, but you’ve been too caught up in your idols to hear.

Believe me when I say this, I’ve been in that place. Time and  time again. And you know what, there IS pain when giving up these idols, this sin, whatever it is for you. But what comes after that? JOY. And PEACE. And HOPE. And this incredible sense of FREEDOM.

Because Jesus is worth it.

And sin is only hurting us. It’s often only after the fact that we realize that.

More than that, I also consider everything to be a loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. Because of Him I have suffered the loss of all things and consider them filth, so that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own from the law, but one that is through faith in Christ – the righteousness from God based on faith.” Philippians 3:8

“Everything As Loss” by Tricia Brock

So maybe watching these movies/TV series with little clips of yuckiness in them is a weight that you need to cast off in order to run the race more effectively.

Therefore, since we also have such a large cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us lay aside every weight and the sin that so easily ensnares us. Let us run with endurance the race that lies before us, keeping our eyes on Jesus, the source and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that lay before Him endured a cross and despised the shame and has sat down at the right hand of God’s throne.” Hebrews 12:1-2

I believe that’s the way it is for me and have been convicted to completely give up some TV series I’d been watching. So keep me accountable! I’m weary of flirting with sin and the ways of the world.

Sin is not to be taken lightly. Not your sin. Not their sin. Not “sin portrayed at something good” in the movies you watch.

Sin is a grievous thing that not only always hurts someone, but first and foremost, hurts the heart of our merciful and loving and holy Father.

If you’re a Christian, you’re a follower of Christ. You will fall sometimes, but He is faithful and will pick you up and dust you off. Then you need to make the decision to reach up and take His hand. And keep following Him.

Lady Grace ❤

8 thoughts on “Idols and Sin

    • You’re welcome! I’m so glad it encouraged you! ❤

      Yes … I thought I should warn people about the iffy content, since I'd put Beauty & the Beast {2017} as one of the movies I was looking forward to watching on this blog. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was extremely disappointed to learn about ‘Beauty and the Beast”. I had been looking forward to that movie since the moment I learned about its existence. I guess that I’ll just have to live with the few preview clips I’ve already seen and forgo the movie, but it’s totally worth it. 🙂

    Great, great post, and God’s Blessings. 🙂

    ♥♥♥ Laura

    Like

    • Same here, Laura! It seems I’ve been waiting forever – I was going to go with all my younger sisters to see it! But we decided there are better things we can watch. 🙂

      I don’t want to make you all feel like I’m saying it’s a sin for you to watch Beauty & the Beast … some things it’s hard to say … we just have to walk with the Spirit!

      But I do think it’s extremely important for us to take a look at our lives and say, “Can I not give up a movie for God? Am I making light of sin?”

      Thank you! So happy it was an encouragement! God’s blessings! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Seems a lot of us are feeling that way, Felicity. And thank you. Yes, we do! It’s hard sometimes – there are so many distractions! But every day is a new day! And He is faithful! ❤

      Like

Leave a comment