Life Updates and a Poem

Hello, my lovely readers! I know, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted … I’ve missed quite a few Tuesdays and Saturdays! Part of that is because my life has been so busy – helping my family remodel a house, organizing, packing, babysitting, applying for jobs, moving in, getting sick … I haven’t had a whole lot of time to just sit and think of something to write to you all. Haven’t had a lot of inspiration lately.

But I’m now getting over being sick with a sinus infection and pink eye (which started out as a cold over a week ago) and feeling much better, physically. Also feeling more settled and calm, now that my family and I are finally in our new house!

So I wrote a poem this morning! 🙂 Now, I am not very good at writing poems. I only write them occasionally, when I’m feeling deeply about something and just have to get my feelings out somehow … so I scribble them down on paper. I haven’t been writing stories lately, or even journaling, but I have slipped into a poem-writing season, I guess.

anemone-652542_1920

  • I’ve been thinking about love. What is love? What does it mean to love, truly? How can we feel perfectly loved?
  • I’ve been thinking about God. Why do we struggle to trust Him at times? Why do we keep running to everything but Him? Why do we cry out so desperately to Him to give us love in all these other shapes and forms, when He’s offering us Himself?

At my Bible study, on Sunday evening, one of the other ladies said something that kind of inspired this poem. She said something along the lines of: God wants to give us the absolute best … so He gives us Himself.

So here’s my poem. It’s definitely not perfect, probably not even proper (I’m not well-studied in the art of writing poems), but bear with me and try to get the overall message, anyway, even if you can’t see the poetry of it. 😉

Come to Me

Why are you running, child?

Running from Me?

Where are you going?

What is it you seek?

 

You’re confused and afraid

Too scared to trust

You don’t know the way

But you won’t let Me lead.

Dear child, be still

Don’t you know it’s Me you need?

 

You’re searching for love

You’re chasing the high

You grasp and you covet

And then you ask, “Why?”

Why isn’t my heart happy now?

Why hasn’t this person satisfied me?

Why do I need more—what haven’t I found?

Where can happiness possibly be?

 

Child, you ask, “Why me?

Why am I alone and unloved?”

But I say, “Come to Me

Let Me fill you up.”

Your heart was made for My love

Let me give you Myself

Your soul was made for heaven above

Child, only in Me can you know true love.

 

Heaven is your home,

Not somewhere unknown.

Eternity is My promise to you, dear

Not something to fear.

So when the Enemy whispers lies

Dark—in your ear

Come to Me, precious child

Let My Word drown out your fear.

 

Come to Me

Come deeper still

Rest in my love freely

Let Me show you My will

My yoke is easy, My burden is light

I do not oppress you

Don’t take to flight

That’s the Enemy’s tactic

To harass and to shame you

My love is gentle—believe it

It’s that of a Father, unconditional and true

 

Come to Me, Child

I want you to know Me

Come and find

My love, divine

Everything else

Will leave you empty

Let Me tell you this, Child

Tell you gently

Seeking Me and My love

Is the only way

Let Me show you My love

Come here to stay

And then you will have

Everything.

© Shantelle Mary

 

I might share some more of my attempts at poetry in the near future – just to share a little of my heart and hope you can relate! 🙂

Have a blessed day, dear friends! ❤

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30

6 thoughts on “Life Updates and a Poem

Leave a comment