Book Review: Recovering Redemption by Matt Chandler

book_recovering_redemption

Recovering Redemption: A Gospel-Saturated Perspective on How to Change by Matt Chandler and Michael Snetzer

My Personal Review ~ 5 stars ~

Wow. Can I give it more than five stars?? Recovering Redemption: A Gospel Saturated Perspective on How to Change had so many incredible things to share!

Matt Chandler is a pastor/Christian speaker that I’ve enjoyed listening to and I really admire his passion, realness, and humor, so when I saw this book that he co-authored with Michael Snetzer, I was interested to read it. I am truly so glad I did! It’s fairly easy to read, keeps you engaged, and had more than one chapter that stopped me in my tracks. So much to digest, mentally – I could read it again! I feel like I’ve been impacted and learned a lot from reading Recovering Redemption.

It simply takes a look at things such as sin, religion, shame, guilt, anxiety, justification, reconciliation, forgiveness, the pursuit of joy … from the perspective of the gospel and who Jesus is to us. Chandler and Snetzer are real and raw, just telling it like is. They don’t mince words. They dig into things … sort things out. They examine Scripture. They call you out. Take a look at tough issues. Tell hard but beautiful real-life stories. Destroy lies you’ve believed. It challenged me. Encouraged me. Made me think. Made me realize. Made me hope. Made me long for more. Made me cry. (Made me laugh a little, even. There was humor/lightheartedness sprinkled throughout this book, hehe). Made me relax – like, maybe I can just rest in Jesus’ arms and surrender my life, letting go of this anxiety and trying to be “good enough”.

As with all Christian Living books, I’m sure I didn’t 100% agree with absolutely everything said … or even like how everything was presented … but overall, I found Recovering Redemption to be an amazing read that provided enlightening truths and made my heart desire ever more to know my Savior – be in a deeper, more intimate relationship with Him.

I loved how Recovering Redemption: A Gospel-Saturated Perspective on How to Change ended with this: Make much of His name. In everything, we are here to honor and glorify our Creator and Lord.

Highly recommend this book.

Leave a comment